DHS Diecast Discussion Forum
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

Model values Options · View
Jeff H
Posted: Sunday, January 27, 2019 6:57:32 PM
Groups: Member

Hello all,
I have been viewing this forum for about ten years now and enjoy seeing what topics come up and the latest model announcements. Was curious if anyone has a good reference as to where one could find fair values for models? I realize EBAY, however those prices can be quite questionable at times. I also realize they are only worth what someone will pay for them. Would just like to know what kind of $$$ I have sitting on my shelves. Thanks in advance for any suggestions that may be given.
Jeff
dain555
Posted: Monday, January 28, 2019 3:52:37 PM

Jeff,

It's really difficult to say what the value is of your models. I find that the dollar value of a model is basically what you paid for it (plus maybe 10%). I've seen prices for some models go up in price, case in point, I have an NZG Liebherr HS855HD crawler crane, I initially bought it for just under $200.00 back in 2009. Now a days that crane is closer to $250.00+ but I do know that there was some subtle changes that were made from the first run of models. Also a model's value is dependent upon the availability, my significant other has a Liebherr HS855HD that we were lucky to find, it is in the Buskers colors and markings, I haven't found one since we got it!!

Another thing that people do is put a value on something that is unrealistic, meaning the "sentimental value", they try to compensate on the price for the sentimental attachment.

The best way to figure out the value of a model is the way your insurance company looks at it. The value of a model is what it would cost to replace the item today. If you bought a model a couple years ago at say $100.00 and the only one you can find to replace it is $150 then it's worth the $150 but on the other hand if you find a replacement for $90 then that would be the value.