DHS Diecast Discussion Forum
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

Astec Industries at ConExpo. (scale model) Options · View
plumber
Posted: Tuesday, March 29, 2011 1:46:55 AM

Groups: Member

Astec was one of the biggest names at the show. They had a huge part of one of the halls. I am not an expert when it comes to aggregate processing, but this model caught my eye. It was by far the most impressive thing at the show in my opinion. I will tell a little about the model. These pictures are of several versions of Aggregate processing in one form or another.( I am sure there are a few experts out there who could explain it more) They are each perfect 1/8 scale models. Down to every nut and bolt, hose, pump, pully, roller, belt and every other part. Talking to one of the reps, he told me that in order to travel worldwide and display even part of this in full scale was just too costly. A full setup would be impossible. Astec had a team of five engineers build all of this. 18 months and over $550,000.00 later, this is what you have. The team travels with the models worldwide. And as technology changes, so do the models, with pump upgrades, new mechanical changes, etc. It was AMAZING. I know we get tired of hearing "Pictures cant do justice"...but they really cant in this case.

Like I said, I couldn't tell you what each part represents, but the detail was amazing. One of the younger sales reps said the model gets more attention than the real equipment in most cases. And he said it certainly gets more attention than they do. I can see why.
RowanH
Posted: Tuesday, March 29, 2011 7:30:07 AM

Wow, you weren't wrong when you said amazing! Is this representative of an actual plant or does it demonstrate all of the pieces they offer? Surprised to see so many truck trailer mounted parts! That sure would be a pretty neat job building all of those parts!

Rowan.

1:25th scale CAT 375L excavator

JTL
Posted: Tuesday, March 29, 2011 9:33:53 AM